//
you're reading...
SMIPP

Estoy Tan Emocionada!

 

DSCN0316

I’ve been living the past 3 weeks in Mexico with a Mexican family.  I could not have been placed in a better home.  My family are some of the most progressive thinkers (socially, environmentally and politically) I’ve ever met.  I could not be happier to be where I am.

My host brother Miguel works for a social movement called “bicimakinas”, to repare and reuse old/donated bikes, in order to find new sources of electricity.  In Mexico, there is a plethora of availability of electricity generated through 5 hydro-electric dams across the country.  The problem is, the government restricts access to that energy to almost anyone but itself and other large corporations.  Here in Chiapas, about 40% of the people have decided against the high state tax on what should be a public subsidy and find other autonomy, environmental ways of accessing their electricity.  That’s where Miguel and the bicimakinas…

View original post 598 more words

About SMIPP Ltd.

SMIPP Ltd is a DG Independent Power Plant Private Joint Stock Company. 25-60 MW Gas Turbines Power Generators

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Calendar

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Follow SMIPP Ltd. on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,584 other followers

Categories

share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Archives

Follow me on Twitter

Today In Energy

